Mr. Smith Goes to Washington

Release Date:
Oct 17, 1939
Running Time:
Comedy Drama
Frank Capra
James Stewart Jefferson Smith
Jean Arthur Clarissa Saunders
Claude Rains Sen. Joseph Harrison Paine
Edward Arnold Jim Taylor
Guy Kibbee Gov. Hubert ``Happy'' Hopper
Thomas Mitchell Diz Moore
Eugene Pallette Chick McGann
Beulah Bondi Ma Smith
H.B. Warner Sen. Agnew
Harry Carey President of the Senate
Astrid Allwyn Susan Paine
Ruth Donnelly Emma Hopper
Grant Mitchell Sen. MacPherson
Porter Hall Sen. Monroe
Pierre Watkin Sen. Barnes
Charles Lane Nosey newsman
William Demarest Bill Griffith
Dick Elliott Carl Cook
Jack Carson Sweeney Farrell (uncredited)
Joe King Summers (uncredited)
Paul Stanton Flood (uncredited)
Russell Simpson Kenneth Allen (uncredited)
Stanley Andrews Sen. Hodges (uncredited)
Walter Soderling Sen. Pickett (uncredited)
Vera Lewis Mrs. Edwards (uncredited)
Dora Clement Mrs. McGann (uncredited)
Frank Capra
Lewis R. Foster, Sidney Buchman

MOVIE TIMES FOR 'Mr. Smith Goes to Washington'

Please wait while showtimes for "Mr. Smith Goes to Washington" are being retrieved.
Mr. Smith Goes to Washington

When the idealistic young Jefferson Smith winds up appointed to the United States Senate, he gains the mentorship of Senator Joseph Paine . However, Paine isn't as noble as his reputation would indicate, and he becomes involved in a scheme to discredit Smith, who wants to build a boys' campsite where a more lucrative project could go. Determined to stand up against Paine and his corrupt peers, Smith takes his case to the Senate floor.

Rate this movie:
4.3 / 5.0
Avg. 4.3 (6 ratings)

Trailer for: 'Mr. Smith Goes to Washington'